Mont Blanc Legend

15 Jan

So it would appear that I’m on a bit of a lucky streak with the billboards after the mortifying Max Factor experience. Having now almost completed Call of Duty (I still suck at multiplayer), the next ad is for the equally masculine Legend fragrance from everyone’s favourite pen and watch manufacturer, Mont Blanc.

Whereas most men’s fragrance ads will promote the notion that, by wearing their product you’ll increase your chances of luring hot women into bed, Mont Blanc’s ad is refreshingly understated. I certainly don’t recognise the man in the poster, but he exudes a rugged masculinity that I admire. He’s not surrounded by hot women or leaning on a sports car… hell, he’s wearing a turtle neck for Christ’s sake. That’s the kind of chutzpah I need and if Mont Blanc have somehow managed to bottle it with a pleasant odour then plug it to my veins.

Buying a bottle of Mont Blanc Legend was surprisingly straightforward and to be honest won’t make up the majority of this entry. With the exception of Dirty Dancing, I’ve paid for every item bought as part of New Billboard Day but am obviously keen to keep my outlays as economical as possible. For that reason I headed straight to eBay where I was able to buy a brand new 30ml bottle for only £23.59 with free P&P which arrived in just a couple of days.

Like the billboard ad, the packaging and indeed bottle are both confident and understated. The black box has some mountain-esque silver lines at the top and the bottle has a similar black/silver colour scheme, again showing an arch to connote France’s highest peak which Mont Blanc is named after. My only criticism with the bottle is that it’s impossible to tell how much you’ve got left, so I would always want to have a back-up if I ever took it on holiday incase I was caught short after a a couple of days’ worth of usage.

Both the Legend bottle and box are understated and mountain-y

Now I needed an environment within which to test out European confidence in a bottle. With my end of year office party fast approaching, I figured the Masquerade theme would be the perfect opportunity to test out my ability to draw women in without them knowing it was me. With their sense of sight incapacitated, surely their sense of smell would be heightened and I would be nothing short of irresistible. I admit it wasn’t the most fool-proof plan, but with no dates with women on the horizon it was the best I could do before the next billboard ad appeared.

Applying the fragrance for the first time I was very pleasantly surprised. I’ve written and re-written this paragraph 3 times but it’s almost impossible to describe a fragrance without sounding like a douche so please bear with me. Whereas as I was expecting a heavy, musky odour I would instead describe Legend as “zesty” with more than a hint of citrus. Having said that, there is no denying that this is a fragrance for men and it certainly isn’t ‘light’ or suited to teenagers like the Abercrombie & Fitch Fierce which I usually wear. Having bought a full face mask to ensure I was unrecognisable, I donned my best velvet jacket and black tie before setting off to the party.

Despite aspiring to look like Brendan Urie from Panic! At The Disco... I instead risked looking like a member of Slipknot attending an awards ceremony

Even with a full face mask, simply based on my hair the majority of people found me to be instantly recognisable. However, even when not prompted I still received positive feedback on my new fragrance. Two colleagues labelled it as “manly” which is, without question, an adjective rarely used to describe me and another female colleague asked what I was wearing because she liked it. Needless to say nothing happened with any of these women, nor would I have wanted it to given that they’re my colleagues. However, the advert conveyed the promise of confidence as a result of wearing the fragrance and I daresay that in that respect it did indeed deliver.

Maybe the fragrance did work after all...?

Since the party I’ve reverted back to my signature Fierce, not just because I like how it smells but almost as importantly it better suits my preppy style that I’ve taken years to perfect. That isn’t to say I didn’t like Mont Blanc’s Legend though. Whilst perhaps a little too manly to compliment the way I look and act, it really is a very pleasant fragrance which only generated positive feedback from members of the opposite sex. For now it has pride of place in my bathroom, but that’s not to say that if I had run out of my usual fragrance I wouldn’t gladly use Legend in the interim.

Forget Paris or Milan, it doesn't get much more exclusive than this venue in London

3 Responses to “Mont Blanc Legend”

  1. Jo January 30, 2012 at 2:06 pm #

    you did smell great!

  2. Christel October 3, 2014 at 11:33 pm #

    Hurrah, that’s what I was looking for, whwt a data! existing here at this web site,
    thanks admin of this web page.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Ed Sheeran “+” « New Billboard Day - February 12, 2012

    […] the honour of gracing my iTunes library.  However, when the billboard shortly changed over from Mont Blanc Legend to show his orange-tinted face I knew what I had to […]

Loved it? Hated it? Let me know your thoughts here.

