Fashion Targets Breast Cancer UK

15 May

The second billboard of my challenge and this time around I’m greeted by the carefree Cat Deeley throwing back her head and smiling at me whilst I stand in my underwear drinking orange juice out of the carton.  However, this ad isn’t all about fun and games, there’s a serious issue here which is targeting breast cancer and I’m keen to help in any way that I can. 

To be honest though, the ad itself doesn’t really make clear what in particular I have to do or buy which has put me off writing this article.  I needed to ensure I knew what I was getting myself into by researching it first and then actually doing it before writing this up… meanwhile the call of my PS3 and scratching myself on the sofa whilst watching Nickelodeon was far greater, but here I am eventually.

“Fashion” is apparently how Cat Deeley shows she cares.  For me, fashion is something I dip in and out of depending on who is the current popular male zeitgeist.  I’ll perhaps splurge twice a year on clothes that bear a similar resemblance to someone else who’s look I like (at the moment Oli Sykes and Justin Bieber) and of course I’ll always pillage A&F whilst in the states.  But otherwise that’s it.  Having said that, I currently need a new pair of shoes plus some chinos so the timing of this ad couldn’t be much better.  If in doing so I can help beat cancer, then there’s even more reason to brave the warzone that is Oxford Street on a weekend.

So, the first clue was to check out the Facebook page which the ad very kindly directs me to via the straightforward but surprisingly long search term “Fashion Targets Breast Cancer UK.”  It’s no wonder they only have 3,560 fans, I had to double check the ad a couple of times to ensure I’d written it right so the chance of anyone remembering it by the time they get home is pretty slim.  Still, they’re now at 3,561 thanks to me.

As I scrolled through the Breast Cancer “Look Book” (the list of applicable clothing items, not pictures of women affected by the illness), my heart dropped.  Every item was for women.  My personal favourite was the “Kate Skinny Crop” pair of trousers – for years people have said to me that the best skinny jeans are those made for women so I may have finally had an excuse to buy some.  I continued to scroll down and considered the “Kitten Bow Sandals” (for my sister, of course) which looked rather snazzy but I wasn’t sure what size she wears or if they were really her ‘thing’ anyway. 

At this point I was resigned to buying the £12.99 “Round Metal Slim Shades” from River Island until I scrolled right down to the bottom and to my relief found an elderflower water made by “Bottle Green Drinks.”  Looking up the company to find my nearest retailer, I also discovered that by “Liking” their page on Facebook they would donate 25p to Fashion Targets Breast Cancer UK so of course I did that too (taking them to a massive 2,279 fans – booyah).

Upon buying the drink, I can confirm it’s remarkably refreshing and sold at a rather costly £2.30 from Waitrose.  I may not have benefited from a new pair of chinos to support a good cause, but at least I was able to help in the fight against breast cancer whilst quenching my thirst. 

In all seriousness though, this is a really good charity and I would definitely recommend you check out their site and if possible show your support.  For more detail about what Fashion Targets Breast Cancer UK does, check out this video:

4 Responses to “Fashion Targets Breast Cancer UK”

  1. Martyn Moore May 15, 2011 at 9:05 pm #

    I only came to look at your blog as it suggested there would be a picture of you in your underwear:)

  2. alannah May 24, 2011 at 4:03 pm #

    hahah maybe the next one. Perhaps there is scope for you to get involved in their next fund raising event? Don’t you have a very special event coming up where there will be many close guests all in one place… perfect oppertunity for you to get sponsers …! 🙂

  3. Eve May 24, 2011 at 4:29 pm #

    Maybe it’s time to start thinking about investing in a brand new set of your own fake busters so you can perform your own breast examinations at will!

    That’ll get you into the swing of things x

Loved it? Hated it? Let me know your thoughts here.

